Somewhat-Vegetarian

So I’ve never been a huge fan of meat, and then since having B I’ve been grossed out by it a little more (as well as milk and eggs) and more.  Pretty much if it’s raw when I cook it, I can’t eat it, with the exception of ground turkey.  I’d still make meat on occasion for N and B though.  A few weeks (or months?) ago, I decided to stop fighting it and started looking up what non-meat proteins we should up and more non-meat recipes to try.  On top of that I also got back to my keeping the sugar intake down and sticking mainly to healthier sugary alternatives when I do want something of that nature (homemade date-nut bars.  Pretzels in melted almond butter/dark chocolate.  NOM).  Oh, and I started remembering to take my vitamins again.

After a week I felt SO much better!  My digestive system was happier, I felt like I had more energy, and I felt more positive.  I’m not sure which it was, or if it was a combination of everything.  But anyway, we’ve stuck to it ever since!  And I have to say, I don’t know why I didn’t do this a long time ago.  Meat.  Ew. 🙂

Heck, the only bad thing about it is that everything tastes SO GOOD.  Ha!  I’ve found some amazing new favorite recipes.  Roasted Garbanzo Bean Fajitas.  As well as altered some that I used to like so that they’re meat-less.  Sweet and Sour Tofu with Veggie Fried Rice.  Just sayin’.

Anyway, I’m not entirely vegetarian.  Just somewhat.  I’ll still use meat broths in cooking, or eat meat cooked by someone else, or eat lunchmeat/hotdog/sausage type things.  For that matter I guess I could call myself Somewhat-Vegan too.  I’ve mostly given up on eggs and cow’s milk.  I use cow milk for my coffee and in some cooking, but otherwise we (being B and I) drink almond milk.  And I use coconut milk on cereal.  And I’ll bake and cook with eggs, but can’t just cook them and eat them anymore.  I still do plenty of yogurt and cheese too, those don’t bother me.

Poor N, he likes meat.  Too bad for him, he’ll have to eat it elsewhere!  I have been trying to make a sausage-related food weekly since I can do that just fine.  I love those Apple Chicken sausages.

Leave a Reply

