Terminology, People

I hate to be a Negative Nancy and post something else like this twice in a row (these days), but I need to vent!

When people are talking about their pregnancy with their third child, for example, they’ll just say “my third pregnancy.”  I can’t stand that.  Sorry.  I know I’m just sensitive to it because of my experiences and it’s probably a perfectly normal thing to say.  It’s just that to me pregnancy does not equal living baby you’re raising right now.  My third pregnancy is certainly not my third child.  My seventh pregnancy is my “second” child.  Why can’t people say “my pregnancy with my third child?!”  That makes a world of difference to me.  For crying out loud.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shannon
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 16:31:43

    I understand. You know how many people asked me when I was pregnant if my twins were natural? That’s a horrible thing to say. No, my babies are unnatural! What they should say is spontaneousnot that it’s any of their business, how my babies were conceived anyway. I can handle stupid pregnancy questions about me but not my kids. I think people don’t mean to be insensitive, they are just ignorant. I’ll admit, I have referred to my pregnancies like that because I don’t think of my MCs as pregnancy (even though they are). So I apologize to everyone if I ever offended them. Good luck.

    Reply

  2. cassie
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 19:10:29

    I totally get that. I can imagine starting a sentence with “During my 4th pregnancy”. Im glad I found your posting- I’ve just returned home from a birthday party where the topic of discussion was how far apart your kids are. AGHHH!!!

    Reply

  3. weavert7
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 00:05:36

    To be honest, I have never once thought of it that way. And many people don’t. They don’t do it on purpose. But it does make sense!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

