Favorite Recipes

It took me a good 5-6 years probably of being married/a stay-at-home mom to feel like I had a good handle on this meal-planning, low-budget-ing, whole-food-eating, semi-vegetarian-ing (because I just don’t really like meat, and it’s too expensive), WIC-centered, making-from-scratch-ing thing.  Both by necessity and by what I feel is healthiest and a good example/atmosphere for our family.  Pinterest has been a HUGE help in finding recipes we like and work for us, since I’m just starting to feel more able to throw decent crap together out of what we have without a plan (with ADD, this is not the way I like to function)!

Here are some of my favorite regulars:

Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie – Who would’ve thought you could make mashed sweet potatoes with cream cheese instead of cinnamon and brown sugar?  But it’s soooo good.

Veggie Enchilada Casserole – I don’t normally use this sauce recipe though.  Instead, I use the one in the next recipe:

Black Bean Spinach Enchiladas

Brown Rice Vegetable Casserole – I’ll totally make this two days in a row because it’s so tasty.  And easy!  I just use a bag of frozen veggies (the cauliflower/carrot/broccoli? whatever ones).

One Pot Cheeseburger Casserole – Just made this last night.  So good with pickles on it.  Oh, and also I don’t use ground beef, I use ground turkey.  All the time, instead of beef.  Ever since I was pg with Michael I haven’t been able to do ground beef!

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers – We top them with miracle whip, lettuce, tomato, and sometimes avocado.  YUM.  Also I generally make sweet potato fries with them.  YUM again.

Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken with Fried Rice – It takes a little work, but it’s worth the effort!

Red Curry Lentils – For when I’m alone for dinner because N isn’t a big Indian food fan.  Pssh.  I eat it with rice and naan and I don’t use red curry, just regular.  Or red lentils… never seen anything but green lentils!

Artichoke Spinach Alfredo Pizza – Sometimes I make my own pizza crust, which is way easy, but sometimes I buy the frozen dough because I feel $1-$2 is worth it to not make my own that day.

Spanish Rice – B LOVES when I make this and refried beans and stick them in a shell with some cheese.

Roasted Acorn Squash with Wild Rice Stuffing – This is a “fancy” dinner, cost a little more to make.  But GOOD.

Leave a Reply

