Run!

I started running earlier this year.  I’m doing some knock-off Couch to 5K program (because I’m not up on my technology and can’t get an app., I had to download whatever free podcasts I could find).  I did well getting up to Week 5 (of 8), but then have slacked a lot most of the summer.  Partly because I have to go in the morning when it’s not too hot and if my husband is home, and a lot of times I’d forget until it was too late, and partly because I have no motivation to keep running laps in the nearly-empty subdivision down the road which is my only option (imo)!  But this last week has been wonderful running weather–has hardly gotten to 70–so I thought it was a good time to get back in gear!  My plan/goal has been to do my first 5K at the Wine Festival in early-mid September, so I need to get busy if I want to run the entire thing, which I do!  I backed up to Week 4 for 2 days, and then was good with that so went back to Week 5 where I left off.  It’s 3 intervals of 8 minute runs with 2 minutes of walking in between.  They’ve actually been leaving the gate to the high school track open so I’ve gone over there the last two times, which has been nice.  I’ve done the intervals but it’s been tough!  Asthma has been impeding me, methinks.  But I hate phones so I have yet to get an appointment for a prescription for an inhaler.

It does make me feel good to run.  Not physically, it makes me legs feel stiff afterward and my lower back feel tight.  But it makes me feel like I have my crap together and I feel butt-kicking when I can run all decked out in my pretty running paraphernalia.

I saw this rather amusing comic about running motivation a few weeks ago, and it made me think about what my motive is.  I looked around Pinterst and didn’t really see anything that applied to me.  So I made my own.  It is what I mentioned, but when I think about it, mostly it’s this:

This is why I run.

why i run

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Aimee
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 15:23:20

    Yes!!! I’m in a mommy running group & we call it “running away” sometimes. 😉

    I can relate to what you said so much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

