Adjusting

It’s harder than I thought it would be!  I feel like I miss B so much since so much of my time I have M attached to me.  Literally.  She doesn’t like to be set down and she comfot nurses/cluster feeds from like 2pm-7pm.  He’s doing great about it, he’s very understanding.  I’m very thankful for that.  But it makes me feel sad and miss him.  And I haven’t thought much about how it will never be just me and him again, like we’ve been used to for so long.  Which isn’t a bad thing, just a big change!  It takes me a long time to adjust to change.  (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZgIrXKpv2gw)  Man I wish I could figure out how to imbed videos in this blog.

This week was back to normal and it went pretty well!  I wasn’t so nervous about getting M into the car 4+ times a day (more if I have an appt., which I did twice).  She did great, and we were able to time things appropriately with getting everyone ready and to the car.  The one time I had to make dinner this week (still living off freezer meals and people who brought stuff!) didn’t work out because she didn’t want to go in the carrier at the time.  But I was able to do the dishes a few times, laundry a few times, and power clean the fridge.  Still way behind on all that… oh well, I guess weekends will be catch-up time.

Things are going better getting the hang of M too.  Eating-wise she’s doing better with her latch and I’m not so sore anymore.  She eats every 1-2 hours for 5-10 minutes, just like B did.  Except for in the afternoons/evenings where it’s never longer than 30 minutes, but a lot of those times she falls to sleep instantly.  I just can’t remove her then or she is displeased!  So yeah, except in the mornings she really won’t sleep unless I’m holding her.  At night I have been trying to get her to sleep in the bassinet, which occasionally she will do for an hour or so once a night.  But by 1-2am I bring her into the bed with me because that’s the only way we get any real sleep.  I usually have hardly any sleep before that point, if any at all.  She’ll sleep closer to 2 hours in a row that way, and two nights ago after having her in bed next to me at 1am she only woke up at 3 and 5 (and got up at 6:30 as we have to)… I felt refreshed that day!  And then last night she slept from 11pm-1am with me!  I didn’t want to deal with the bassinet routine at the time, and I fed her lying down in bed because I didn’t feel like I’d fall asleep doing so at the moment.  A friend said that would help babies when you have overactive letdown, which I have and gives her issues.  Maybe it did help her because dang, 3 hours!  I was ready to get up for the day after that!  Ha!

She doesn’t do a lot of new stuff yet of course.  I’m curious how big she is now because she doesn’t fit in the newborn size clothes anymore, her newborn size diaper cover really doesn’t fit, and one of her little hats doesn’t fit.  Her cheeks are definitely cheekier and her arms are armier and her legs are ever so slightly leggier too.  It’s nice to have evidence that she’s growing properly!  She’s awake for longer periods of time now and every so often is starting to make almost coo-y sounds.  Another few weeks and she could be telling all kinds of lovey stories.  Awww.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 15:18:57

    I can teach you how to imbed! It’s really easy.

    1. Under the video, click Share.
    2. To the right of the link highlighted, click Embed.
    3. A box will pop up with the code for the video highlighted.
    4. Copy and paste to your blog and it will show up as a video when you publish!
    5. I recommended previewing first to make sure the dimensions are right and nothing is cut off. If it’s not right, just play with the width and height numbers in the code until you like how it looks.

    PS I’ve been reading your blog as a creeper for awhile… since I am commenting, I feel like I should tell you how much I admire you and your attitude in chronicling all you have been through to get your sweet baby girl. So many people are all rainbows and butterflies; I like that you kept it real and shared the good days and the bad days. I prayed for you when you started your fertility treatments, when you were pregnant, and when you delivered. I felt compelled to help in some way, but didn’t know how, so I offered my prayers.

    Reply

    • Shan
      Nov 30, 2012 @ 16:58:37

      Ahhh thanks! I never thought to check on YouTube for the way to do it over something I had to do on Worpress.

      And thank you, prayers are a big help and I really appreciate it. 🙂 Also I’m glad it gave me a link to your blog so I know who you are or I would’ve been like oh, what a nice random mystery creeper! 😛

      Reply

  2. weavert7
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 21:33:58

    Trust me I completely understand how you feel, about missing Ben, and not being able to put Meg down. I went through the same thing, and I remember for awhile feeling horrible, and wishing I could have two of me to be able to take care of both of them, but know that it will get better, and easier. I will say it didnt feel like that till Dom was about 3 months old. Life felt crazy up until that point. I think thats when I finally adjusted to two and had a good routine down with both of them. Hang in there. Ben understands, and your a good mom!

    Reply

    • Shan
      Dec 01, 2012 @ 03:35:49

      Thanks, that’s what I keep saying to Ben, about how little babies need so much attention. He really does seem to get it! I’m trying to enjoy the newborny time as much as possible but it will be nice when she’s a little older… of course all the being attached to me stuff with him didn’t start until he was a little older, so I’m afraid this isn’t going to stop anytime soon. :/ Guess we’ll see. But I told Ben when she’s a bit older and won’t need me as much then me and him can go do stuff together. Might not be until she’s 6 months+ and will eat solid food though, unless we can get her to take a bottle. I was going to try that this next week since they say 3 weeks is the time to try it I guess.

      Reply

  3. weavert7
    Dec 01, 2012 @ 08:22:05

    Yeah once she gets a little bigger then she will be on a scheduled routine and taking naps eventually in her crib and thats when you can have one on one time with Ben (on the days he isnt at school). Thats what I would do with Eli. Him and I would do whatever he would like to do, weather it was coloring, playing games (candy land, memory, ext.) or play dough. Whatever. I really looked forward to Dom’s nap time just for my one on one time with Eli. I looked back at what I wrote earlier and I am laughing about how I said I wish there was two of me to be able to take care of both of them. I said that kinda of wrong LOL! Of course I took care of both of them!! But you know what I mean! Yeah try a bottle when the time comes. It is just nice to have Meg know how to do a bottle in those instances of you an Ben going on fun day out together and Nick and Meg staying home.

    Reply

  4. Aimee
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 19:56:06

    Have been excitedly waiting for this post. 😉 So glad to hear that you guys are all getting in a groove. Although you being excited about 2 hour stretches of sleep kind of terrifies me. Just a smidge. Glad I found a used Arms Reach Cosleeper bassinet thing & am already a seasoned bed sharer to help ease the transition. Although I’m sure B is going through a challenging experience, I’m also sure you will find ways to make sure he knows he’s still your special sweetheart too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

