19-20 Weeks

Halfway done.  Wow.  And the next half is by FAR the best part!  So blessed to have made it to this point, I had started to feel like I never would.  I know God is taking care of this kid!

At 19 weeks baby is 6″ long, about the size of a large heirloom tomato (see, that makes more sense than the bell pepper at 18 weeks).  Some research suggest babies can begin hearing this week!  Aww.  Hair is beginning to grow on their scalp and vernix is beginning to coat their skin too.

At 20 weeks baby is about 6 1/2″ long, 10″ long from head to toe.  Apparently that’s about the size of a banana.  A really big one.  I don’t know where these people are getting their produce.  But apparently after 20 weeks measurements are done from head to toe now.  Baby is swallowing more now, and beginning to make meconium (which my son passed during delivery and seemed to have traumatized my husband!).

I’m feeling pretty good most of the time.  The hip cramps/pain at night is starting to be an issue and I can’t figure out exactly how to prevent it yet.  What worked last time doesn’t seem to be working this time because it is definitely cramping, it feels good to stretch my hip joints but then I wake up an hour later and am like ouch!  I’m going to get some bananas and see if more potassium will help.  Oh hey, I bought a carseat bunting off Babysteals the other day!  It was 44% off, so I had to do it.  It’s so exciting to be able to buy baby things!!!

B is really excited for the ultrasound tomorrow!  At first he thought we were bringing “brother or sister” home that day, even though he’s quite familiar with what an ultrasound is (“pictures of the inside of you”) after having been to most of my baseline and follicle scans and having had a renal ultrasound himself.  He still talks about all the things he’s going to do with them and show them and asks what they’re doing in there (Are they tickling me?  Are they sleeping?), it’s so sweet!  He’s a little concerned because we don’t have any girl stuff or girl toys, although most of the time he seems to think it’s a brother.  One more day to find out, ahhhhh!

Leave a Reply

