13 Weeks

By this week baby has fingerprints, and if it’s a girl her ovaries already have over 2 million eggs in them.  (And hopefully her eggs are better than mine.)  Baby is almost 3″ long (dang, lots of growing last week too), about the size of a medium shrimp.  Eww.

Last week of the first trimester!  OMG.  I can’t believe it, I’ve just been so in one day/step at a time/waiting mode this whole time it’s hard to fathom the first trimester being behind me.  I also have realized that I don’t think the worrying will go away, it just should get progressively less.  A lot of it I think is just that I’ve gone through so much disappointment and heartbreak it’s hard to not have a little part of me expect that to happen again in some form or another.  But mostly I’m doing good staying positive and starting to feel excited!

I think I felt crazy baby flapping this last week!  The first time I was laying on my stomach, trying to take a nap, and I started feeling some pressure in the front of where my uterus is, a little off to the right.  Then there were some really quick popping/pricking feelings there.  Then a few days later I was laying on my stomach again trying to go to sleep at night and felt like a goldfish was swimming around in there.

I did, however, see crazy baby flapping!  I had an appointment with my CNM on Friday and she couldn’t find the heartbeat with the doppler.  So she brought in this old rickety ultrasound machine.  It was too fuzzy to be able to get a heartrate (probably didn’t have that feature on it anyway because it was too old!), but we could see the baby wiggling and kicking and waving all over.  Good enough for me!  Then I went home and ordered a dozen newborn prefolds. 😀

NT scan in 4 days, then we’ll go public.  It’s scary and exciting to think about doing that.

Leave a Reply

