First CNM Appointment

I liked that midwife, I’m going to stick with her unless ever proven otherwise.  She was friendly and understanding of my concerns.  Like the one where I asked if I could have another ultrasound because I was still nervous (and because I’d like to double check things are good before making a decision on the freezer babies… more on that some other time).  She didn’t hesitate to send me right away for an ultrasound, and she even said anytime I feel like I need one for peace of mind I can just call and she’ll get me one.  But I think I’ll be okay after today’s… I’m finally beginning to let it sink in that this is real!  Which makes me cry.  I go back in four weeks.

Here’s wiggly beanie:

(S)he is all chilling in there.  You can clearly see the head now, and that sticking out part in the middle is the “mid gut” where the intestines are not all inside the body yet/where the umbilical cord is.  I couldn’t see wiggly baby being wiggly yet, but the tech said it was so it took her two tries to get the heartrate.  It was 160bpm, and last time it was 120bpm.  Today must be an exciting day!  Also baby measured exactly 13 days bigger than the ultrasound 13 days ago. 😀  She didn’t even need to do a TV ultrasound, this was all from the top.  I was amazed since my uterus is so crammed against my spine usually.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy W
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 14:59:40

    Praise God! How wonderful to seeing this little one growing exactly as expected! And its great that you like your midwife so much. I am so happy for you guys! 🙂

    Reply

    • Shan
      Apr 05, 2012 @ 15:07:32

      Thanks Amy! It’s funny because it’s like after the first ultrasound where I feel like God is saying, “See? I keep telling you things are okay! Stop worrying!” 🙂

      Reply

  2. sarahr80
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 15:07:49

    Brings me tears of joy for you and your family. I am so happy for you!

    Reply

  3. Jessica
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 15:35:06

    So happy for you that things are going well! So will this baby be called “Bean” during pregnancy, like how Ben was called Turnip? 🙂

    Reply

    • Shan
      Apr 05, 2012 @ 15:58:55

      Nah, this week is just kidney bean week. We’ll pick something more original I’m sure. Like kumquat or… spaghetti squash. Or maybe just use the name as soon as we figure it out for Ben’s benefit.

      Reply

  4. jaschob4
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 12:15:49

    I vote for Kumquat!! That’s was N’s in-utero name 🙂 My second vote is Flying Chicken.

    Reply

    • Shan
      Apr 12, 2012 @ 12:34:59

      Ha! I’m almost to kumquat week, so we’ll see. I did consider making some name out of your Flying Chicken. Maybe just Chicken. I kinda like that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

