Embryo Transfer

It is done!  And it went great!  Out of the 9 embryos, one didn’t survive, but all of the remaining 8 were Grade I-II, which means they’re super awesome.  The two transferred were Grade I, so they couldn’t have looked any better.  It was quick and easy, aside from having to have a full bladder, so as soon as he was done and asked me if I wanted a catheter I was like YES PLEASE.  Then I laid there looking at magazines for an hour, laid in the back seat of the car on the way home (it’s hard to eat Arby’s like that), and have to be on full bed rest today.  Tomorrow too, but I can sit up to eat at least.

I swear I can sense them in there too.  They’re all like, “Hey man, it’s pretty cool in here.  Let’s stick around.”  Yeah.

I’m on an IVF support group message board, and from what I’ve seen it seems that 3 or 5 day embryo transfers are most common.  In fact I’m not sure I’ve encountered anyone else who did a 2 day transfer there.  When I thought about it, it makes more sense to do a transfer closer to 5 days because that’s more when the embryo would be aged the amount it would be when it naturally entered the uterus and could implant.  That also gives you more time to see how well the embryos are growing.  However, it also makes sense to me that the sooner you get them back in there the better because they’re meant to be inside your body, so that should be the best environment for them to continue growing.  So I Googled about this the other day, of course, and this article came right up: http://humrep.oxfordjournals.org/content/16/3/476.full

“No difference was observed in implantation and pregnancy rates between transfers on day 2 versus day 3 (23.8 versus 23.8% and 47.9 versus 46.8% respectively). The incidence of embryos of moderate to poor quality was higher in embryos cultured for 3 days compared with those cultured for 2 days. It is concluded that the outcomes of embryo transfer in terms of implantation and pregnancy rates are comparable for day 2 and day 3 embryos, although the overall embryo quality score decreases when embryos are kept in culture till day 3.”

I felt much better after reading that!  Also my nerdy self wonders how in the world someone could have written this article and used numerals for numbers 10 and under instead of words.  I do it here because this is a blog, but come on, published academic article here.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah R.
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 17:14:36

    still in my prayers, and sending sticky embryo dust your way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

