I have Nonuplets!

They did get 12 eggs, and out of those 3 were either over-mature or not mature (couldn’t tell which she said), and of the 9 they fertilized they all became embryos!  It’s weird how suddenly more real this feels.  I’m also relieved because I was afraid my eggs would all crap out on me.  I won’t know what grade of embryos they are until tomorrow, but they’ll obviously pick the healthiest looking two to transfer.

After the procedure (which is simple, they just stick a catheter into your uterus which I can’t even feel happen), I will have to lay there on my back for an hour.  Then I will have to remain laying completely flat for 3-4 more hours, so when I go home I’ll have to lay in the back seat.  Then all day tomorrow I’ll be on strict bed rest, only allowed to get up to use the bathroom.  This is all to encourage implantation.  I also know that eating pineapple core is supposed to help with implantation, so I’m getting that today.  Not looking forward to eating the core of a pineapple, but you eat 1/5 of it a day for 5 days.  Anyway, then on Thursday I’ll have to stay on partial bed rest, which means laying down except I can take a shower and I can sit up to eat.  So basically the next two days I plan to do a lot of reading, figuring out stuff for this year’s garden, browsing the internet (Pinterest, yes), and I want to watch a specific version of Don Giovanni I have divided into several files.  My mother will be here to watch the boy and help out.

I feel pretty good today.  I was surprised by how little my ovaries hurt with all those follicles, mostly I was just really uncomfortable like there were two waterballoons inside me or something.  After the ER it was cool how I suddenly didn’t feel that anymore.  I was pretty sore from the procedure so I laid around mostly and kept falling asleep.  Today I don’t feel so sore.  So I guess that means I should go do the dishes.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica Van Dyke
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 13:47:59

    When will you know if the embryos implanted?

    Reply

    • Shan
      Feb 21, 2012 @ 13:59:58

      I’ll just take a test 7-10 days later. They’ll do a blood test 12 days after the transfer, but we won’t have good insurance by then so I have to get busy with Medicaid and get things figured out with Bronson.

      Reply

  2. Jessica Van Dyke
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 13:50:18

    The non-stupid version of that question includes something like “other than the obvious pregnancy symptoms”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

