Egg Retrieval

It’s going to be on Monday morning!  I went in to be monitored the last two days in a row and things are looking good.  Thursday I was feeling a little nervous that I didn’t have enough follicles big enough, but by Friday things were looking much better.  My nurse thinks I should have 15+ follicles to try to get eggs out of.  So today I will get a call telling me when to trigger (intramuscular shot, how I loathe you) and giving me the specific time for the procedure with more details.  My ovaries are hanging in there.  They’re uncomfortable and feel giant, but not too much pain.  (I expect that will change after I trigger.)  I’m feeling a little nervous about how much the procedure will hurt.  I will be consciously sedated (if only general anesthesia didn’t cost an extra $600…), which I’ve never had done before.  So that’s really it, I don’t know what it will be like.  But this is what they will do to get the eggs:

Giant needle.  Yay.  But I’m so excited!

Speaking of needles, I am SO glad to be done with stims.  The needles that come with the Gonal-F blow.  They’re not sharp enough or something.  There’s a lot of resistance getting them in, and they bruise like crazy.  I have the nastiest giant bruise on one side.  It’s like dark purple with green around it and all striped looking because apparently stretch marks don’t bruise.  The blotches are kind of shaped like a map of the world.  Ha.  I took a picture of it, but I’ll spare you.  Last night I couldn’t take it so I just used different needles I like better… I didn’t need to measure, just had to get everything out of the vial to inject at that point.  Much better.  Why didn’t I think of that last week?!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica Van Dyke
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 09:08:45

    I just want to let you know that I’m following this and I’m praying for you!

    Reply

  2. Sarah R.
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 18:16:11

    I’m praying for you!!- I went with my friend when she had egg retrieval under the same kind of anesthesia, she was uncomfortable but not in pain and barely remembered it. Hope it all goes smoothly. Hugs!

    Reply

    • Shan
      Feb 19, 2012 @ 09:37:53

      Thanks, and good to know! I have no choice anyway, so I’m not really super nervous. It’s more just the unknown, not sure how I react to that anesthesia. I know what general is like, so that also would’ve made it better.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

