Happy Birthday to Me?

I have lots of HPTs to spare, so yesterday (9dpo) at 5pm just because it helps calm nerves I took one.  After a few minutes I glanced at it, it looked blank, and I tossed it.  Today (10dpo) so far I have continued to feel a little different than I normally do before my period, so I took another HPT along with an OPK* around noon.  The OPK was dark, but not quite positive, though at this point in your luteal phase you shouldn’t really be getting much of anything on an OPK.  The HPT had the faintest positive shadow of a line I’ve ever gotten before.  So my first thought is… Is the Novarel (it’s Hcg) still in my system or could this be for real?  Ovidrel was always out of my system by 7dpo, but Novarel was intramuscular so maybe it could hang around longer?  I’m asking around to see if anyone knows anything about that.

*OPKs detect LH and HPTs detect Hcg.  Hcg and LH are identical molecules except that Hcg has some little added bit to it.  It’s like LH’s identical twin, but with a hat on.  So OPKs can pick up Hcg, but HPTs can’t pick up LH.

Then I remembered that I took that test last night, so I dug it out of the trash and studied it.  It is either still blank, or there’s an even fainter shadow of a line on it, but my eyes could be playing tricks on me at this point.  Either way, it’s lighter than the one I just took today.  So basically, things are looking promising, but aren’t entirely conclusive and I’ll test again tonight with another HPT and an OPK.  Or no way I’m getting any sleep tonight.

Oh, and my birthday is tomorrow.  My hopes aren’t high, but I’m hoping for another best birthday present ever.  I found out I was pregnant with my son on my birthday in 2007.  (And he was born on our 2nd Anniversary, ha.)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 13:28:57

    Praying that today (your birthday) reveals an even more positive test. Thanks for sharing your journey with us all, Shannon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

