Something Happier to Think About

Most of the time I can’t look at baby stuff or think about the baby stuff I’ll want to get whenever I’ll finally be having another baby, and most of the rest of the time I just don’t care because I’d always cave and look around the internet when I was pregnant and hopeful and so been there done that, I already know what I need!  But every now and then I am able to remind myself of how joyous it will be when that day finally comes, and it makes me excited.

I’ve always really felt like we’re going to have a girl next, so we’ll see how that goes.  I hope that’s what will happen because I want one girl and I know just the sort of stuff I’ll get!  Either way, I’m really excited for another baby so that I can do everything over again, and this time with knowing what sort of parent I am and with having experience.  So I won’t have that first-time nervousness!

The thing I’m most looking forward to is breastfeeding again.  I weaned my son at 13.5 months during a miscarriage and really really regret doing it that early.  Neither of us were ready, but I was convinced I wanted my body to get back to normal asap and I’d be having another baby in no time.  We all know how that plan worked out.  I wanted to nurse him until 18 months, but I really don’t have any “until” in mind anymore.  I just miss nursing so much, and I’m really looking forward to how carefree about it I’ll be able to be with it next time.  (With my son I was always afraid of where I would be able to nurse, covering up, etc… ha, I’d do it anywhere anytime now!)  And along those lines, I’m also looking forward to having a cosleeper (because I figured a pack-n-play bassinet would suffice before, pshaw)/cosleeping more, amongst other things!  And just generally knowing what I’m doing already. 🙂

I also am excited to be able to cloth diaper and babywear from birth.  Even though I was interested in both of those when I had my son, I wasn’t informed enough and didn’t have enough support to try and do both anyway despite not having money/it being an inconvenience (we didn’t have a washer/dryer at the time).  I didn’t start cloth diapering until we bought a house and did have a washer/dryer when our son was 18 months, and I didn’t start babywearing until he was almost 2 1/2 and 35lbs.  So yeah, majorly excited to start a baby diaper stash (I know all the diapers I want!) and to get to wear my baby around (and I know the new wrap I want too!).

The prettiez!

This is the kind of stuff I can think about to make me realize more how excited and incredibly happy I will be someday, and it gives me a boost of hope.  Which is always nice to have!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. crystal theresa
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 01:52:12

    i love that you’re thinking about these things. focusing on what we can look forward to can help keep us hoping.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

